The Collected Novels Volume Two

The Collected Novels Volume Two (versione in eBook)

Odd Girl Out, Something in Disguise, Falling, and Getting It Right

di Elizabeth Jane Howard

Questo formato è la versione digitale in ebook.
Puoi leggere gli Ebook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici)


€ 31,19


A quartet of witty, perceptive novels from the international bestselling author of the Cazalet Chronicles and a “compelling storyteller” (The Guardian).   Best-known for the five novels that comprise her million-selling Cazalet Chronicles, which was made into a BBC television series, British novelist Elizabeth Jane Howard wrote about upper middle-class English life in the twentieth century with a “poetic eye” and “penetrating sanity” (Martin Amis). Her highly acclaimed literary fiction is “shrewd and accurate in human observation, with a fine ear for dialogue and an evident pleasure in the English language and landscape” (The Guardian). Collected here are four of her finest novels about the delight and dangers of desire.   Odd Girl Out: When beautiful, wealthy, shiftless, twenty-two-year-old Arabella Dawick comes to stay one summer with Anne and Edmund Cornhill, their once-idyllic marriage becomes a domestic minefield of desires and secrets.   “A unique blend of high comedy and acute psychology.” —Hilary Mantel   Something in Disguise: One could characterize May’s unwise second marriage to Col. Herbert Brown-Lacy as a “death worse than fate.” The ripple effects of this unhappy union—on May herself; her own adult offspring, Oliver and Elizabeth; as well as her stepdaughter Alice, who is impulsively getting married to escape—lead to surprising and satisfying outcomes.   “Astute, experienced, vulnerable, and it reads with incomparable ease.” —Kirkus Reviews   Falling: In the wake of a painful divorce, sixtyish playwright Daisy Langrish buys a weekend cottage in the country. When Henry Kent shows up looking for work, Daisy hires him as a caretaker. Despite her wariness, she begins to fall for her charming employee. Slowly and with masterful skill, the aging con man seduces Daisy, drawing her into his spiraling web of lies and deception.   “Troubling, subtle, and distinctive . . . Completely unputdownable.

Quarta di copertina

” —The Independent   Getting It Right: Thirty-one-year-old virgin Gavin Lamb is a shy hairdresser in London’s West End who still lives at home with his parents. But meeting two women at a party—an oversexed married millionairess named Joan and bon vivant who goes by Lady Minerva Munday—will shake up his quest for true love. Howard wrote the screenplay for the film adaption of this delightful social comedy, featuring Helena Bonham Carter as Minerva and Lynn Redgrave as Joan.   “Howard scores again—with a wry social comedy . . . Total delight.” —Kirkus Reviews  

Acquista The Collected Novels Volume Two in Epub: dopo aver letto l’ebook The Collected Novels Volume Two di Elizabeth Jane Howard ti invitiamo a lasciarci una Recensione qui sotto: sarà utile agli utenti che non abbiano ancora letto questo libro e che vogliano avere delle opinioni altrui. L’opinione su di un libro è molto soggettiva e per questo leggere eventuali recensioni negative non ci dovrà frenare dall’acquisto, anzi dovrà spingerci ad acquistare il libro in fretta per poter dire la nostra ed eventualmente smentire quanto commentato da altri, contribuendo ad arricchire più possibile i commenti e dare sempre più spunti di confronto al pubblico online.


Nessuna Recensione presente. Vuoi essere il primo a inserirne una?
Recensioni con x Stelle
Stile scrittura
Aspetto estetico
Rapporto qualità / prezzo
Valutazione complessiva


  • Listino:€ 24,95
  • Editore:Open Road Media
  • Data uscita:12/06/2018
  • Pagine:-
  • Formato:EPUB
  • Lingua:Inglese
  • EAN:9781504054423

Puoi leggere questo ebook con:


eReader Kobo
Puoi leggere gli eBook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici).
Gli eReader Kobo consentono di portare con te la tua intera Libreria e di leggere ovunque ti trovi.

Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per Android.

Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per iOS.

Puoi leggere questo eBook su qualsiasi dispositivo Android con l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.


Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo iPhone tramite l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.


App Kobo Desktop
Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo computer grazie alla nostra applicazione gratuita Kobo Desktop. Questa applicazioni ti consente di leggere, gestire la tua Libreria di eBook e anche di acquistare nuovi titoli.

Scarica l'applicazione per PC o per Mac.

APP18 - Bonus cultura da 500€

I Nostri Partner



18/02/2019 | 14:50


Taipei, Valparaiso, Roma, Philadelphia, Montevideo, Kuala Lumpur, Portland, Atene, Toronto, Nantes, Glasgow, Budapest e Dakar: su laeffe arriva la quinta entusiasmante stagione dei Racconti dalle città di mare.Alcune delle città più importanti al mondo sono state costruite vicino al mare, diventando luoghi simbolo: porti, città commerciali o mete turistiche.Nella nuova stagione, Sophie Fouron ci accompagna in un percorso in giro per il mondo alla scoperta della loro bellezza, della loro complessità e della loro vera anima.

Top Elizabeth Jane Howard

Visualizza tutti i prodotti