From Manual Workers to Wage Laborers

From Manual Workers to Wage Laborers (versione in eBook)

Transformation of the Social Question

 
Questo formato è la versione digitale in ebook.
Puoi leggere gli Ebook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici)

33,58

€ 37,23
Aggiungi alla Lista Desideri
Articolo acquistabile con 18App e Carta del Docente

* Puoi leggere questo eBook con l'applicazione gratuita Kobo

Aggiungi al carrello

Descrizione

In this monumental book, sociologist Robert Castel reconstructs the history of what he calls "the social question," or the ways in which both labor and social welfare have been organized from the Middle Ages onward to contemporary industrial society. Throughout, the author identifies two constants bearing directly on the question of who is entitled to relief and who can be excluded: the degree of embeddedness in any given community and the ability to work. Along this dual axis the author locates virtually the entire history of social welfare in early-modern and contemporary Europe.This work is a systematic defense of the meaningfulness of the category of "the social," written in the tradition of Foucault, Durkheim, and Marx. Castel imaginatively builds on Durkheim's insight into the essentially social basis of work and welfare. Castel populates his sociological framework with vivid characterizations of the transient lives of the "disaffiliated": those colorful itinerants whose very existence proved such a threat to the social fabric of early-modern Europe. Not surprisingly, he discovers that the cruel and punitive measures often directed against these marginal figures are deeply implicated in the techniques and institutions of power and social control.The author also treats the flipside of the problem of social assistance: namely, matters of work and wage-labor. Castel brilliantly reveals how the seemingly objective line of demarcation between able-bodied beggars those who are capable of work but who chose not to do so and those who are truly disabled becomes stretched in modernity to make room for the category of the "working poor." It is the novel crisis posed by those masses of population who are unable to maintain themselves by their labor alone that most deeply challenges modern societies and forges recognizably modern policies of social assistance.The author's gloss on the social question also offers us valuable perspectives on contempo

Acquista From Manual Workers to Wage Laborers in Epub: dopo aver letto l’ebook From Manual Workers to Wage Laborers di ti invitiamo a lasciarci una Recensione qui sotto: sarà utile agli utenti che non abbiano ancora letto questo libro e che vogliano avere delle opinioni altrui. L’opinione su di un libro è molto soggettiva e per questo leggere eventuali recensioni negative non ci dovrà frenare dall’acquisto, anzi dovrà spingerci ad acquistare il libro in fretta per poter dire la nostra ed eventualmente smentire quanto commentato da altri, contribuendo ad arricchire più possibile i commenti e dare sempre più spunti di confronto al pubblico online.

Recensioni

Nessuna Recensione presente. Vuoi essere il primo a inserirne una?
Recensioni con x Stelle
Trama
 
Stile scrittura
 
Aspetto estetico
 
Rapporto qualità / prezzo
 
Valutazione complessiva
 

Dettagli

  • GenerePolitica
  • Listino:€ 33,58
  • Editore:Routledge
  • Data uscita:16/08/2017
  • Pagine:-
  • Formato:EPUB
  • Lingua:Inglese
  • Curatori:Robert Castel
  • EAN:9781351518611

Puoi leggere questo ebook con:

  • EREADER
  • TABLET
  • DESKTOP
  • SMARTPHONE

eReader Kobo
Puoi leggere gli eBook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici).
Gli eReader Kobo consentono di portare con te la tua intera Libreria e di leggere ovunque ti trovi.

iOS
Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per iOS.


Android
Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per Android.


App Kobo Desktop
Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo computer grazie alla nostra applicazione gratuita Kobo Desktop. Questa applicazioni ti consente di leggere, gestire la tua Libreria di eBook e anche di acquistare nuovi titoli.

Scarica l'applicazione per PC o per Mac.

iOS
Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo iPhone tramite l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.

 

Android
Puoi leggere questo eBook su qualsiasi dispositivo Android con l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.

 




APP18 - Bonus cultura da 500€


I Nostri Partner


 
Cardif
 
Dogalize