The Library of Ice

The Library of Ice (versione in eBook)

Readings from a Cold Climate

di Nancy Campbell

 
Questo formato è la versione digitale in ebook.
Puoi leggere gli Ebook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici)

10,14

Descrizione

‘A wonderful book: Nancy Campbell is a fine storyteller with a rare physical intelligence. The extraordinary brilliance of her eye confers the reader a total immersion in the rimy realms she explores. Glaciers, Arctic floe, verglas, frost and snow — I can think of no better or warmer guide to the icy ends of the Earth’ Dan Richards, author of Climbing Days **A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing. ** Long captivated by the solid yet impermanent nature of ice, by its stark, rugged beauty, acclaimed poet and writer Nancy Campbell sets out from the world’s northernmost museum – at Upernavik in Greenland – to explore it in all its facets. From the Bodleian Library archives to the traces left by the great polar expeditions, from remote Arctic settlements to the ice houses of Calcutta, she examines the impact of ice on our lives at a time when it is itself under threat from climate change. The Library of Ice is a fascinating and beautifully rendered evocation of the interplay of people and their environment on a fragile planet, and of a writer’s quest to define the value of her work in a disappearing landscape. ‘The Library of Ice instantly transported me elsewhere... This luminous book is both beautifully written and astute in its observations, turning the pages of time backwards and revealing, like the archive of the earth’s climate stored in layers of solidified water, the embedded meanings of the world’s icy realms.

Quarta di copertina

It is a book as urgently relevant as it is wondrous’ Julian Hoffman, author of The Heart of Small Things ‘An extraordinary work not only for the perspicacity and innate experience of the author who leads the reader carefully across intertwined icy tracks of crystallised geographics, melting myths and frozen exploration histories, but through her own tender diagnostics of what reading ice can show us in these times … Perilous in its scope, exacting in its observation, wild in intellect, The Library of Ice captures the reader’s attention almost as if caught in ice itself’ MacGillivray, author of The Nine of Diamonds: Sorroial Mordantless   ‘This is travel writing to be treasured. A biography of ice, the element that has another life, with hard facts thawed and warmed by a poet's voice. Campbell's writing is companionable, curious, deeply researched and with no bragging about the intrepidity that has taken her between winter-dark Greenland, Polar libaries, Scottish curling rinks, Alpine glaciers and Henry Thoreau's pond at Walden’ Jasper Winn, author of Paddle

Acquista The Library of Ice in Epub: dopo aver letto l’ebook The Library of Ice di Nancy Campbell ti invitiamo a lasciarci una Recensione qui sotto: sarà utile agli utenti che non abbiano ancora letto questo libro e che vogliano avere delle opinioni altrui. L’opinione su di un libro è molto soggettiva e per questo leggere eventuali recensioni negative non ci dovrà frenare dall’acquisto, anzi dovrà spingerci ad acquistare il libro in fretta per poter dire la nostra ed eventualmente smentire quanto commentato da altri, contribuendo ad arricchire più possibile i commenti e dare sempre più spunti di confronto al pubblico online.

Recensioni

Nessuna Recensione presente. Vuoi essere il primo a inserirne una?
Recensioni con x Stelle
Trama
 
Stile scrittura
 
Aspetto estetico
 
Rapporto qualità / prezzo
 
Valutazione complessiva
 

Dettagli

  • GenereGenerali
  • Listino:€ 10,14
  • Editore:Scribner UK
  • Data uscita:01/11/2018
  • Pagine:-
  • Formato:EPUB
  • Lingua:Inglese
  • EAN:9781471169335

Puoi leggere questo ebook con:

  • DESKTOP
  • SMARTPHONE
  • EREADER
  • TABLET

App Kobo Desktop
Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo computer grazie alla nostra applicazione gratuita Kobo Desktop. Questa applicazioni ti consente di leggere, gestire la tua Libreria di eBook e anche di acquistare nuovi titoli.

Scarica l'applicazione per PC o per Mac.

Android
Puoi leggere questo eBook su qualsiasi dispositivo Android con l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.

 

iOS
Puoi leggere questo eBook sul tuo iPhone tramite l'applicazione gratuita
la Feltrinelli Kobo.

 

eReader Kobo
Puoi leggere gli eBook sul tuo eReader Kobo (o su altri dispositivi di lettura elettronici).
Gli eReader Kobo consentono di portare con te la tua intera Libreria e di leggere ovunque ti trovi.

Android
Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per Android.


iOS
Puoi leggere questo eBook tramite l'APP Kobo gratuita per iOS.





APP18 - Bonus cultura da 500€


I Nostri Partner


Cardif
 
Dogalize
 
Dogalize
 
Dogalize

Top Nancy Campbell

Visualizza tutti i prodotti